Movie Diversion #1

I love David Fincher, and I don’t care who knows it. I love Alien 3. Most people disparage it as being the worst Alien film (apart from Alien : Resurrection, a film that revealed Joss Whedon’s true form as a writer of glib, crappy dialogue…..but we don’t speak about this film). Alien 3 is a return to the world of Alien, after James Cameron departed on an (admittedly brilliant) gun-totin’ Terminator tangent. In Alien 3, three out of four of the main characters of Aliens die in the first ten minutes. Ripley gets impregnated. A single alien terrorises a factory full of rapists and murderers, and the only person who can save them is her, and to do so she will have to destroy herself.

THAT’S ALIEN. The universe is a cold, dark place full of things trying to kill or fuck you. That’s the spirit of the original film.

I could go on, but Alien 3 is a sore subject.

Seven & The Game are two of my favourite films from the ’90s. One’s a dark, revealing portrayal of man’s real nature. The other’s got Morgan Freeman in it, and Brad Pitt, probably the least likely movie team since Twins. But Fincher makes it work.

And Fight Club…probably one of the first “subversive movies” my generation saw. It makes more sense if you read this – probably the best movie analysis I’ve ever seen:

Image

http://metaphilm.com/philm.php?id=29_0_2_0

Panic Room….I can’t remember. I think it was good but Kristen Stewart puts me into a dispirited coma.

Zodiac is the best example of a story that doesn’t have an ending actually working. It’s a detective story that doesn’t have an ending….and it’s great. Benjamin Button remains the only sad, weepy love story I’ve ever enjoyed. I don’t really know why. I’m not touched by that junk. But it’s good anyway. I don’t cry, but I do have to sniff quite hard when Button turns into a boy with dementia. Major bummer.

And, of course, The Social Network and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. The Citizen Kane of the 2000s and The Unnecessary Remake That Was Better Than The Original. Soundtracks by Trent Reznor of NIN (joyous fanboy weeping) and Atticus Ross (Korn, Jane’s Addiction, more weeping) which, if I had the records, I would have worn out by now.

Also, I’m in love with Lisbeth Salander. Don’t know why. Image

Anyway. You can keep your James Camerons and Michael Bays (ugh!). for my money David Fincher has never made a bad film.

Speaking of uninterrupted runs of success, today has been a good writing day. I’m well over the 50K mark now, and sufficiently confident in the characters to include a subplot or two just to flesh them out. If the schedule keeps, this book will be finished before the new year.

I’ll get back to it now, so here’s a very creepy Donovan song from Zodiac.

Leave a Reply

